Rio de Janeiro, commonly referred simply as Rio, is the second largest city and the second largest GDP in Brazil. For complete touristic information about the city, consult the Rio Guide

A short list of hotels can be found here. For assistance with hotel reservation, please send an email to  

Visas are currently not required by holders of passports of the following countries: Andorra, Argentina, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Bolivia, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Denmark, Ecuador, El Salvador, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Guyana, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macau, Malaysia, Morocco, Monaco, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Malta, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Trinidad & Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, Uruguay, UK, Vatican and Venezuela.

A visa is currently required for U.S., Canadian and Australian citizens, and can be obtained through the nearest Brazilian Consulate.